The Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Atlanta  

Province of Atlanta

When the Diocese of Atlanta became the Archdiocese of Atlanta on February 21, 1962, the ecclesiastical Province of Atlanta came into being as well.

The Archbishop of Atlanta thus holds the ex officio title of Metropolitan of the Province of Atlanta.

Dioceses of the Province (Provincial Sees):

Ecclesiastical Provinces

The largest territorial division of the Latin Church, an ecclesiastical province is an administrative district comprising several dioceses. It is united under the presidency of an archbishop or metropolitan who holds this position as a result of the recognition of his diocesan see as the metropolitan see (an archdiocese). The other sees are called suffragan or subordinate sees, each governed by its respective bishop. An ecclesiastical province answers directly to the Holy See.