The Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Atlanta  

Office of Archives and Records

The Office of Archives and Records, founded in 1992, has been collecting records and unique materials that document the management, organization, and history of the Archdiocese since it was formed out of the Diocese of Savannah in 1956. Its responsibilities encompass not only the supervision of permanent archival records, but also the management of the active and semi-active records of the Archdiocesan offices and agencies.

The mission of the Office of Archives and Records is to collect, preserve, and make available the permanent and official records of the Archdiocese of Atlanta, its people, institutions, and associations. It documents the historical richness, development, and the spiritual, temporal and business affairs of the Catholic Church in North Georgia.

A new initiative began in 2008 to reorganize the Office of Archives and Records in order to offer better access to its resources and to expand its responsibilities. In 2010, the Association of Catholic Diocesan Archivists honored the Archives with the Joseph Cardinal Bernardin Award in recognition for its work in building an exemplary archives and records program.

While primarily serving the administrative needs of the Chancery and assisting parishes with research, preservation, and records management issues, the Office of Archives and Records is also open to the public for scholarly research by appointment.

Staff

For research, sacramental, or transcript requests, or any archives/history related questions, please contact archives@archatl.com.

For records policy, retention, or destruction questions, please contact records@archatl.com.

Name Position Phone Number E-mail

Deacon Dennis Dorner 

Chancellor

404-920-7325

ddorner@archatl.com

Claire Jenkins

Director of Archives and Records

404-920-7692

cjenkins@archatl.com

Angelique Richardson

Staff Archivist

404-920-7694

arichardson@archatl.com

Kevin Brown

Records Analyst

404-920-7695

kbrown@archatl.com