The Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Atlanta  

Provincial Court of Appeals History

The Court of Appeals was established in 1983 by a nihil obstat of the Supreme Apostolic Signatura. The Signatura appointed the following officials:

  Initial Court Current Court


Most Reverend Thomas A. Donnellan, JCD

Most Rev. Wilton D. Gregory, STL


Judicial Vicar

Reverend Edward J. Dillon, JCD

Very Rev. Paul J. Hachey, SM, JCL



Most Reverend George E. Lynch, JCD

Rev. Gregory D. Goolsby, MDiv


Reverend Monsignor Michael J. Regan, JCD

Rev. Albert W. Jowdy, MDiv


Reverend Monsignor Francis J. Murphy, JCD

Rev. Richard B. Morro, BA


Reverend Francis J. Nelson, JCL

Rev. James A. Schillinger, STL


Reverend Richard B. Morrow

Rev. James D. Duffy, SM, MDiv


Reverend Monsignor John F. McDonough, VG, PA

Rev. Victor A. Galier, MDiv, ThM


Reverend Monsignor R. Donald Kiernan, PA

Rev. Msgr. R. Donald Kiernan, PA


Reverend Joseph J. Beltran

Rev. Msgr. Henry C. Gracz, MDiv


Defenders of the Bond

Reverend Stephen T. Churchwell, JCD

Very Rev. Daniel J. McCormick, BA


Reverend Anthony Green

Rev. Msgr. Peter A. Dora, MDiv


Reverend E. Peter Ludden

Rev. Eric Hill, MDiv


Reverend John Henley

Rev. Victor J. Reyes, MDiv


Promoter of Justice

Reverend Monsignor Jerry E. Hardy

Very Rev. Daniel J. McCormick, BA



Sister Frances Whitman, GNSH

Ms. Marguerite (Meg) Fortino


Ms. Marianne (Mac) Fronek




Rev. Randall Mattox, MDiv


Rev. Mr. Dennis Dorner


Rev. Mr. Steve Swope


Rev. Kevin J. Hargadan, MDiv


Rev. Paul W. Berny, MDiv